Learning to Leave the Nest…& Possibly Start A New One!

24 Jun

Ahoj new friends!

Yay! I’m so excited because a few days ago my TEFL program gave me all the names/e-mails of everyone else who will be in my August class! So, what did I do? Wtf do you THINK Jessi Graves did upon receiving the contact information of 23 potential (inevitable) new friends? I sent out a mass e-mail! And within hours a facebook group was created! I am totally having flashbacks to the summer before RWU/semester before CIEE when I hit up literally everyone & their brother haha Sorry! I am a mini Mama G! I like to organize & plan! But the more important thing here is the idea of safety in numbers.

Image(Above: Prague is so pretty!)

One of the recurring questions people keep asking me once they hear I’m doing this is: “Who are you going with?!” & I always answer, “Uh…no one?” & they’re so shocked. I don’t really understand this exchange because I am 22 years old. I am an adult, people! It would be surprising/scary if I was 15 & going alone but I am old/mature/cultured. So I can handle things like this (…maybe?)

Why is no one fearless anymore?

Not crazy/stupidly/carelessly fearless…but brave. Why is taking a plane alone a big deal (Grammy asked if I wanted Grampy to fly over with me…why? So he can just turn around to go back home? haha), why is being away from home for so long a big deal? Homesickness is rough, but it is never worth forfeiting your dreams over! I remember thinking deep down before I left for Paris “Should I do this?” then I came back to the US & realized just how much I would have missed out on if I let my fears overcome me.

My mom talks to some of her friends who have younger children & they always say “Oh my God, I would never let my child do that!” This saddens me. Why are you holding them back? Why are you not even giving them the option at all?! I am so lucky because Mama G is a cool mom. She partied & traveled up until 28 & after my dad proposed she said, quote: “Okay, but let me take one more cruise with the girls first!” I lucked out. She has always allowed me to adventure instead of just cooping me up at home all my life. I want to be the same way with my kids. I want them to go out there & find themselves. Life is scary, traveling is scary, the unknown is pretty freakin’ scary! But sitting at home all your life letting this fear of the world cripple you is even worse.

Image

(Above: 16-year-old me desperately trying to euro-fy my awkward stage in London, England)

So here I am, no longer that little fledgling with pre-Invisalign teeth & a trench coat going on a class trip to Paris & London…nor am I the migrating bird exploring Europe for a bit alone. I am kinda an adult bird going overseas to set up a new nest. Gulp. Well temporarily. I think? 😉 Who knows!

Note: NEST= HOME, NOT A NEW FAMILY. WHY DOES EVERYONE THINK I’M HUSBAND HUNTING 2 MONTHS AFTER COLLEGE!

But I’m glad I am not the only one experiencing all this!

Talking to everyone online via facebook is helping quell what little fear I had of going to another country alone. Most of us are in the same boat, so I don’t feel left out or overwhelmed. We’re all going through the same thing. Just like a group of gawky freshman entering college, or the small group of students moving to the City of Lights for a semester (& all being very concerned that their school didn’t come up in a basic Google search…). It’s all new! So let’s embrace it!

Let’s embrace getting lost because we cannot pronounce street names. Let’s embrace awkward exchanges with people while speaking very limited Czech. Let’s embrace the coolest way to start a new chapter in our lives!

Because, let’s face it, I am just not a cubicle girl…not for right now at least.

Can’t wait to meet you guys!

JG

2 Responses to “Learning to Leave the Nest…& Possibly Start A New One!”

  1. rafferz55 June 24, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

    Reblogged this on English Language 4u.

  2. ronald stacy December 7, 2013 at 12:39 am #

    I can’t believe you are so daring I could remember when we couldn’t even keep a candle burning because it made you nervous. As usual great blog.

Leave a Reply

